Thoughts as a child

Salutations,

I wanted to use another word for hello so I used a thesaurus and it came down to a choice between greetings which is often used when aliens greet you or salutations which I remember from a movie Charlottes Web which I loved as a child and as this entry is about childhood it won.

So the other day I was asked to think back to when I first began primary school. As I’m 26 and this happened 22 years ago so I had no memory of this time so I could provide insight. But the thought did intrigue me and is something I will be questioning my mum about. Now as I mentioned in my first blog I’m an over thinker so I was thinking about what type of child I was and how have or haven’t changed. One idea that I found intriguing was what I believed in as a child, besides the usual Santa and Easter Bunny. Here’s what I got so far…

  • If I ate the seeds of fruits like apples or pears that a plant would grow in my tummy.
  • That moths were butterflies that had become evil
  • That fairies existed
  • That porcelain dolls were alive and were bad ( I still don’t like them today)
  • My other toys were alive but they were good.
  • If I watched a movie with a rating that was higher than my age ( eg. MA  15+) I would get arrested.
  • Thunderstorms happened when the clouds were angry.
  • That paintings could move around ( before Harry Potter )
  • Ladybugs were girls.
  • That my reflection in the mirror was another version of me and who had her own life but as much as I tried to look into the mirror I was unable to see into her world. I would try and trick her by moving really quick but she was too quick and knew what I would do.
  •  Daytime shadows were good but the night time ones were evil. I was afraid of the dark for much longer than I’d like to admit and still have a torch on my bedside table if needed.

I’m sure there are more but these are what came out when I brainstormed ideas. Reading over them some of them seem innocent. Others are a bit darker and make me think how these beliefs were created but overall I was amused with what I came up with. The one that I wish I knew why I thought this was that porcelain dolls were evil but the rest of my toys weren’t. Maybe its because porcelain dolls were so life like and you weren’t aloud to play with them. That or there creepy eyes he he. por dolls

Until next time,

Lily Whitelegs

 

Leave a comment